Receive email notifications by changing your settings.
Click on your picture in the top right corner, go to Preferences and select your notification preferences.
Thank you for contributing to our forum!
Please keep in mind:
1. To only comment on the topic where the discussion is about. Do you have a new question or topic? Please start a new discussion.
2. Be kind to other users!

Tip: How to replace a project with a new version, while keeping the 'old' name without added number?

edited February 3 in Ideas/suggestions

Sometimes you want an existing project updated with new features/ improvements. When removing a project, and replacing it with a new project with the same name, usually a number is added to the new project name, as the old project remains available for a certian time in the trash bin.

To ensure that the new project version gets the original project name without the added number, the following steps will make that happen:

  1. Make a copy of 'projectA' with 'save as', and give it a name like 'projectA-new'.
  2. Adjust the new copy of the project as desired.
  3. Save, exit and log in again.
  4. Go to Options > Projects.
  5. Next to the old 'projectA' is an option to edit the projectname. Rename the project to 'projectA-old'.
  6. You can now remove the project to the trash bin, if desired.
  7. Now you can edit and rename the new project version to the original name 'projectA'.
Tagged:
Sign In or Register to comment.